H 9
O 9
F 9


The highest honor to bestow any professional baseball player is his enshrinement into the National Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, New York. Only one percent of all those who have played on a professional level has a plaque in The Hall. On January 5, 1999, The Baseball Writers' Association of America made it official by electing Lynn Nolan Ryan Jr., George Brett and Robin Yount to the Baseball Hall of Fame. Not since the Rookie class of 1936 when Babe Ruth, Ty Cobb, Walter Johnson, and Christy Mathewson has more than 2 players been elected on their initial year of eligibility.

Nolan led the Class of '99 being named on 491 of the 497 ballots cast. Receiving a voting percentage of 98.79, Nolan is second only to former teammate Tom Seaver who received 98.84% in his election in 1992.

Addressing a croud of reporters and well wishers from the stage of the Nolan Ryan Center of Continuing Education on the campus of Alvin Community College, Nolan announced he will be inducted into the Hall of Fame on July 25, 1999 wearing the cap of the Texas Rangers ball club.

And the life of this Texas Legend continues. . .

Transcript of Nolan's Hall of Fame acceptance speech

To The Express Tribute Page